Touristing

So I feel like I need at least one post that’s just a recap of all the touristy things I did over some weekend. And this is that post (mostly because I can’t think of anything important or life-changing that I should blog about. I hope to have a post about hunting for wi-fi in a large city soon, but I need to visit more cafes in order for that to happen).

This weekend, most of my flat were major tourists. Our friend Kat was here for the weekend and we decided we needed to show her the sights.

But prior to Kat’s arrival, one of my classes went to Kew Gardens in Southwest London on Thursday and boy, was that one of the best places I’ve been so far. We spent most of the class running around and staring in awe at the beauty of all the different types of flowers and plants and open space they had there.

Andrew wandering though Kew Gardens

Andrew wandering though Kew Gardens

A leaf that was bigger than me!!

A leaf that was bigger than me!!

They had a pagoda, a treetop walkway, greenhouses, groves, zen gardens, and more. Oh, and just a peacock wandering around. Because London.

Casual peacock that was like SIX INCHES AWAY FROM ME

Casual peacock that was like SIX INCHES AWAY FROM ME

Our first stop with Kat on Friday was the Victoria and Albert Museum which we didn’t have time to see nearly enough of. I could have wandered around all day but my compatriots were not quite as enthusiastic about wandering around a museum all day as I was, so I’ll have to pop back by again sometime because I was just in awe of how much stuff was in that building. From fashion to history to jewelry to art and beyond, there were just so many things to see.

10690195_10205116730102490_4675255529266327915_n

Andrew and I for scale at the V&A

Gretchen in the corner for scale of this GIANT object

Gretchen in the corner for scale of this GIANT object

"I will wear this and sit on this at my wedding."

“I will wear this and sit on this at my wedding.”

We wanted to show Kat some of the London sights so we ate dinner in St. James’ Park, someplace none of us had been yet. It was a beautiful day and we got to see lots of dogs, which was a bonus.

Wandering around St. James' Park

Wandering around St. James’ Park

Afterwards we popped by a very strange art exhibition and grabbed drinks at the Carousel Bar at the London Wonderground which is always an enjoyable time, wandering past the London skyline in the evening. It’s one of those things that reminds me that I’m not in Kansas anymore.

Sup, Ben.

Sup, Ben.

We rose early (for college students) Saturday morning to go on a wander around Greenwich with Bill. It was a ton of fun and excitement as we got to see the Greenwich Market and stand on the prime meridian line. Oh, and walk under the Thames river. That was amazing too.

Under the Thames we go!

Under the Thames we go!

Trying to show Bill Snapchat with the Greenwich geotag. I think he kind of got it?

Trying to show Bill Snapchat with the Greenwich geotag. I think he kind of got it?

1496649_10204897702181590_1973900617317624027_n

Casual tree pose between two hemispheres.

This morning, we had to return to schoolwork. I cranked out a paper, a response and started a collage for classes. Bleh. But I found an amazing cafe that I adore called Look Mum No Hands!, a cafe/bike repair shop combination that offers a ton of plugs, free wifi and a cozy atmosphere. I got to take my shoes off on the bench while I did my work and drank my mocha, so that’s what counted for me.

10420168_10204905291931329_259361998445280150_n

Until next time – maybe I’ll write about all the travelling we have planned, or cafes, or all the dates I’ve been on… who knows!

Cheers from London.

Leave a Reply

